BBQ Sauce Marinated Pork Loin Roast With Vinaigrette Dressed Cabbage

Last week when I went to the grocery store to pick out my meat for my lunch for the week, I saw this pork loin roast. It was very cheap. Cheaper than chicken or turkey meat. I had never cooked a pork loin roast before, so I was hesitant. Since it was such a good price, I thought I’d give it a shot.  The store also had a package of raw coleslaw for 89 cents! So there was one side. They also had frozen veggies for 10 for $10. Another side added. So yeah, it was a good grocery shopping experience. Walking around the store, I saw a display for Frank’s Red Hot Sauces. They had a BBQ sauce flavor. I knew then how I was going to make my pork loin.

frank's red hot bbq sauce

For the pork loin, I put in an appropriate sized Tupperware, and I covered it in salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder. Then I took about 1/4 – 1/2 cup of Frank’s Red Hot BBQ and rubbed it all over the pork loin. I made sure it was covered nicely. I put the lid on the Tupperware and set it in the fridge. I made my lunch on Sunday Football, so I let the meat marinate for the length of the Saints game. (You could probably get by with a half hour to hour marinade.)

I did sneak a taste of the Frank’s Red Hot BBQ Sauce. Oh man, is that good! If anyone has been to a Brewer’s game in Milwaukee and has had their Secret Stadium Sauce, it reminded me a little bit of that. Tangy with a bit of a kick. Love it.

After it marinated, on a covered pan, I put the pork loin into a 350 degree preheated oven. I let it cook for about an hour. About half way through the cooking process, I gave the pork loin another covering of the BBQ sauce. Pork needs to reach an internal temperature about 165 degrees.

franks red hot bbq sauce pork loinSo beautiful. I let this rest for about a good hour, hour and a half. You can let this rest not as long if you are serving this the day you cook it. Since I wasn’t, I let it rest as long as possible before I cut into it. Got to  keep those juices in!

As the pork loin rested, I made my side dishes. I took some corn and zucchini and sauteed it in coconut oil. I let them get a little charred before I took it off the pan to let it cool down.

For the cabbage, I wanted to make a vinaigrette since that holds up better if you are stretching the coleslaw for a whole week.

I found this recipe for a warm vinaigrette. I followed this recipe as it was. the only thing I did differently was use regular mustard and horseradish mustard because I didn’t have any dijon mustard on hand. I should have lessened the amount of the liquid ingredients. Not by much, just a little. I think this recipe used more coleslaw than what came in my packaged coleslaw.

balsmaic paleo vinaigrette colesalw

  • 1/4 cup of honey
  • 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 1/8 cup of balsamic vinegar
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely minced
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Read more: http://therealfoodguide.com/red-cabbage-paleo-coleslaw/#ixzz2kMq7WpF0

You basically put all this in a sauce pan over medium-high heat and make sure it is all combined well. Let it come to a boil, and put the heat down to low. Let this reduce for three to four minutes. Pour it all over your coleslaw. It will wilt your cabbage, but still keep it somewhat crisp. It has a nice tartness to it.

vinaigrette coleslaw paleo balsamic
Back to that pork loin. After I finished my two sides, I finally cut into the pork. OH. MY. GOODNESS. It was soooooo juicy. I shocked myself with how awesome this came out on my first attempt. None of it was over cooked or undercooked. I really feel that letting it rest so long helped that.

franks red hot bbq sauce pork loin roast
I taste tested a few pieces. Wow. So so good. I will definitely make this again. Maybe this time for  dinner instead of lunch.

Here is my lunch for the week put together.
franks red hot bbq sauce pork loinI cut up all the meat and put it in an airtight container. The meat was just as juicy from Sunday as it was on Friday. It was so succulent. So let your meat rest! I don’t think it would have been as juicy on Friday if I didn’t let it rest so long.

I hope everyone has a great week! See yall soon!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

