Mixed Green Salad with Tzatziki Dressing and Baked Chicken

Warning, I did a bad job with taking pictures as I cooked this meal, so there aren’t very many pictures. Please forgive me.

Tzatziki Dressing

However, this was such a good salad! I love love love Greek food. I wanted something super light that was also low carb and low in sugar for my lunch last week. This definitely achieved that.

For the chicken, I had a Mediterranean spice blend and baked my chicken in the oven with that.

I adapted this recipe for the dressing from a blog called Mother Rhyme. There were ingredients in there I didn’t like too much, so I left them out. You can always refer back to the original recipe if you want to see what she had in her dressing.

Tzatziki Dressing:

1 1/2 cups (12 oz) plain Greek yogurt
1 cup seedless cucumber peeled (I forgot to peel mine) and chopped or seeded cucumber peeled, seeded and chopped
1 tablespoon lemon juice (or 1/2  a fresh lemon)
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon (1-2 cloves) garlic, minced
Salt and pepper to taste

Optional ingredients:
Jar of artichoke hearts (I think I used a 5 oz jar)
Sun-dried tomatoes, chopped (I used what I had left, about 1/2 jar)

I added all the ingredients, except the tomatoes and artichoke hearts, in a blender and blended away until it was pretty smooth. Since I forgot to peel my cucumber, the dressing turned a little green, but it did not affect the flavor of it.

When the dressing had the consistency that I liked, I put it into a container and then added the sun-dried tomatoes and artichokes in. I just gave it a nice stir and set it in the fridge. As the week went on, the dressing became thicker and thicker. It was really lovely. It had such a nice, refreshing, and crisp flavor. This would be perfect in the summer.

For the rest of salad, I bought mixed green salad, olives, feta cheese, and Roman tomatoes (I chopped them).

My fridge was overflowing with containers.

Tzatziki Dressing

I couldn’t even use my regular lunch bag to pack my lunch in because even when I condensed everything, there were still too many containers! I put the chicken in with the salad mix, added the feta cheese to my dressing, and put the olives and tomatoes into a small container.

Tzatziki Dressing

Tzatziki Dressing

Here is the nutritional information about the salad. It was way lower in calories than I thought it would be. Of course, these are approximate calories and nutritional data. It has A LOT of protein, so it was filling.

greek salad Tzatziki Dressing
Don’t forget to add me on Facebook!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

