Low Carb & Gluten Free Cream Cheese Panfakes (Pancakes)

Panfakes. Not pancakes. Panfakes.

cream cheese pancakes panfakes

While I was on a strict paleo regime, I tried to recreate many of my favorite foods. One of them was pancakes. There are many recipes out there for panfakes. One I tried used bananas, protein powder, and eggs. They were gross. I also tried using just bananas, eggs, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Again, it just wasn’t really giving me the pancake experience.

The other night while searching for healthy recipes for breakfast, I cam across this post from the blog I Breathe…I’m Hungry…. In the description, it said that these pancakes taste like skinny fried cheesecakes. I was sold. I was also skeptical just because I’ve had issues with panfakes, but these sounded promising since I love cream cheese.

Low Carb & Gluten Free Cream Cheese Panfakes (Pancakes)

This recipe made about 7 panfakes, but of course that depends on how big or small you make them.

4oz cream cheese (full fat or low fat)
4 eggs
2 teaspoons sugar of your choice
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Put everything in a bowl.
cream cheese pancakes panfakesMix everything with either a hand mixer, stand up mixer, magic bullet, or an immersion blender. Let the bubbles settle for a few minutes.

My “batter” came out really lumpy. I have no idea if this is normal. Next time , I may try creaming the sugar and cream cheese together before adding the eggs.
cream cheese pancakes panfakesHeat a skillet of some sort to medium heat. You NEED to grease the skillet. I used Pam. You can use butter if you like.

My skillet only had room for one panfake at a time. I made them a little large. I took a small ladle and poured the “batter” in the skillet and spread it out a bit. These cook pretty quickly. This batter does not rise. There will be some bubbling. It takes about 2 or 3 minutes to cook one side. Flip it over and cook the other side for about a minute. These will be very thing! Grease the skillet every time you cook a new panfake.

This is what it looks like when they are done!
cream cheese pancakes panfakesThese were surprisingly good! This is the most pancake-y tasting panfake I ever had. When you bit into a small chunk of cream cheese, it did taste a little bit like a cheese cake! It is not a bread/cake like texture with a real pancake, but I didn’t really notice. It’s more like a crepe. I didn’t even use sugar free syrup or anything to eat these. I liked them plain.

I made enough to have for breakfast for 3 days. I had a side of ham and a banana with them. I kept the left overs covered in the fridge. I warmed them up in the microwave and they tasted just fine!

I will definitely make more of these. I feel like you could do a lot with these panfakes because they are so thin almost like a crepe. I may have to think of some ideas soon to use these with.

Here’s the nutritional information for the panfakes. This made about 2.5 batches for me (7 panfakes).
cream cheese pancakesSo much protein! Love it!

Don’t forget to add me on Facebook!

This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

