Kale and Cranberry Copy Cat Salad

kale and cranberry salad

 

When I was in Texas in August, I tried the most wonderful salad from the HEB grocery store deli. It had kale, cranberry, some kind of seeds, and an amazing dressing. I knew that once I returned back to Kansas, I HAD to recreate it.

I did. I came out victorious.

2013-08-25 15.59.41

 

I found this copy cat recipe. I changed up some of the ingredients a little or left some out, but it didn’t affect the flavor (to me anyway). So if you want to know the original recipe, make sure you click on the link.

2013-08-25 15.59.41

INGREDIENTS:
Chicken (optional)
One bunch kale (wash. rinse. cut/chop/tear into bite size pieces)
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup red win vinegar
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 cup orange juice (fresh orange or juice from a carton)
1/8 cup soy sauce
1 teaspoon ground ginger
Salt & pepper to taste
Cayenne pepper to taste (optional)
Craisins or dried cranberries
Sunflower seeds
Slivered almonds

 

INSTRUCTIONS:

  • If you are going to use some kind of protein for your salad, prepare that first. I used chicken strips. I smothered on some salt, pepper, and a spice rub I received in the mail. I arranged the chicken in a way so that the chicken would cook a bit more evenly by trying to keep all the thick parts next to each other and the thinner parts on the outside.
    2013-08-25 16.04.56
  • As your protein is cooking, clean up your kale. Rinse it off real good. Cut, chop, or just tear off bite sized pieces. I didn’t use any of the stem in my salad, but you can if you like. Put all of that wonderful kale in a huge bowl or Tupperware container. I recommend using a container with a lid.
  • To make the dressing, all you do is put everything but the sunflower seeds, almonds, and cranberries in a bowl and mix! For the orange juice, I squeezed an orange. One medium sized orange gave me enough juice. I also used the fork trick to get as much juice out as possible.
    2013-08-25 16.15.08vinaigrette
  • Now put that dressing in the container with the kale. You can also add your cranberries, sunflower seeds, and almonds at this point. Put the lid on the container and start shaking! (If you use protein, like the chicken I did, wait for the chicken to cool down before mixing it with the salad. Or you can put the protein in a separate container and add the chicken later.)

kale and cranberry salad

This salad is best if it has been sitting in the fridge for a few hours or overnight. It really lets the flavors marry with each other. Also, you could steam the kale if you wanted to, but the acid from the orange juice and vinegar actually “cooks” the kale. The kale will wilt after sitting in the dressing for a while. I never thought I would like raw kale, but this salad changed my view on raw kale.

The dressing has a tangy bite to it. It just gets better as you eat it. This salad can also last a while in the fridge as long as it is covered tightly.

I HIGHLY recommend trying this out. The HEB version can get a bit expensive, and this really is a cheap salad. You most likely have most of the ingredients also. I’m sure you could substitute the kale for a different green leaf.

Don’t forget to add me on Facebook!

 

This entry was posted in Food, Health, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

