Mushroom Meatballs (Paleo)

mushroom meatballsI hate labeling everything paleo, but this way of eating has changed my life. Thus, I have come across many delicious recipes including this one from the awesome blog called Virginia is for Hunter Gatherers. And no. This is not a fake meatball that is only made of mushrooms. It has meat, so don’t fret.

I think I pretty much followed this recipe to a T except for two things: the type of meat and celery salt. So definitely go check out the original recipe at some point.

Ingredients:
1 lb ground turkey (You can use any kind of ground meat for this.)
1 egg
1 cup finely minced mushrooms
1/3 cup diced white onion
1 tsp dried parsley
1 tsp dried basil
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (Or just add some cayenne, or skip this ingredient all together)
Salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400º.
  2. Mince your mushrooms in a food processor. Take out the mushrooms, and then mince your onion in the food processor.
  3. In a bowl, combine your dry ingredients with your mushrooms and onion.
  4. Add the meat and egg and use your hands to mix thoroughly.
  5. Form the meat into balls. If you make them the size of golf balls, you will get about 16 or so meatballs.
  6. I put my meatballs on a rack like this, but you don’t have to.
    mushroom meatballs
  7. Bake for 20-25 minutes depending on the size of the meatballs. And you’re done!

I sliced up some zucchini to make fake noodles and found an all natural pasta sauce to complete the meal. These came out pretty good! They don’t have a mushroom taste. I think next time, I might leave a few bigger pieces of mushroom to get that texture and taste. I love mushrooms, so I wouldn’t mind it. I think if you hate mushrooms, you would still like this.

As with the mashed sweet potatoes, this is also a good way to slowly get into healthier eating. It’s all about the baby steps.

I hope you all have a good Thursday!

I’d like to leave you with a song that I have been listening to on repeat.

This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mushroom Meatballs (Paleo)

  1. Gabrielle, we’re super glad you enjoyed the meatballs. We make them a lot ourselves, especially this summer as our garden’s only true success story is the zucchini plant–the last one we picked is almost as big as Heather. Cheers, Brent

Leave a Reply

