Mashed Sweet Potatoes (Paleo)

paleo mashed sweet potato

On my last Whole30 challenge, I think for 2 weeks straight, I had some form of sweet potato every day. I was addicted. BUT THEY ARE SO GOOD!

This was a really easy recipe. This is the recipe I took mostly from. I didn’t follow it to a T.

I basically took 2 large sweet potatoes and baked them at 400 degrees until they were soft (about an hour depending how big they are). When they were done, I peeled the skin off and cut it up into a few pieces. Then I put in some coconut milk (the canned kind), herbs, 1 teaspoon lemon juice, and salt and pepper. After that, you mash them up with whichever technique you like best. I used a hand mixer.

paleo mashed sweet potatoes

This is really good.  You don’t taste the coconut milk or the lemon juice in this, at all. I paired mine with some country ribs that I put a spicy dry rub on.

paleo mashed potatoes

 

I’m not really going to give a list of ingredients because it is all pretty much to taste. If you want your taters to have a kick, add some cayenne. Put whatever herbs you want. Put as little or much coconut milk you want for the texture of the potatoes.

Try sides like this if you want to slowly get into a paleo regimen or into healthy heating. Starting small like this will help the transition to a healthier life style.

Hope you give this recipe a try!

This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

