Skillet Focaccia Bread

2013-06-18 18.26.12

I have no words for this recipe. Well maybe a few: addicting, delicious, and easy.

This recipe comes from Crunchy Creamy Sweet that I saw on Pintrest. I knew immediately I wanted to make it. I had all the ingredients, and baking is therapeutic for me. So this was a no brainer for me.

If you go directly to her post about this awesome recipe, she has an awesome picture tutorial.

Skillet Focaccia Bread

2013-06-18 18.12.33

What you’ll need

Dough:
3/4 c warm water
1/2 tsp granulated sugar
1.5 tsp dry active yeast
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 c all purpose flour (divided)
1/2 tsp salt

Butter topping:
3 Tbsp unsalted or salted butter (melted)
1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
1/4 cup shredded cheese (The original recipe calls for 1 Tbsp of grated parmesan cheese that is mixed in with the butter and Italian seasoning, but I did not have any on hand. I used what cheese I had and just topped the bread with it.)

Preheat your oven to 220°F. Grease your skillet. (I don’t own a cast iron skillet, so I used the biggest skillet I ad in my kitchen and it worked perfectly.)

  • Put your water and sugar into a large mixing bowl or stand up mixer. Stir the sugar until it dissolves.
  • Then sprinkle your yeast into the bowl and stir it just a little. Let it sit for about 5 minutes until the yeast starts to foam.
  • Turn on your mixer, and add one cup of flour and the salt. After it is mixed well and combined, add your oil and mix well.
  • Gradually add the remaining flour and mix until your dough starts to pull away from the sides. (This step will take a few minutes, so don’t rush.)
  • Put the dough on a floured surface and kneed it a few times so the dough becomes smooth and not sticky.
  • Shape it into a ball and roll it out into the size of your skillet. (I’m not sure if this is a pro tip or not, but I used the bottom of my skillet to smash the dough into the size I needed. I didn’t want to take out my rolling pin. Just make sure the top and bottom of your dough is floured well so nothing sticks.) Place the dough in the skillet and stretch it out so it fits nice and snug.
  • You will then cover your skillet with a kitchen towel and put the skillet in the oven for 20 minutes. (I was skeptical of this part. I thought I was going to burn my house down, but it didn’t. The heat is so low on the oven, it won’t do anything. This is an incubator for your dough.)
  • After the 20 minutes, take out the skillet (your dough should have risen), and turn your oven up to 400°F.
  • With your fingers make little craters all over the dough. Get your melted butter and mix the Italian seasoning in it and brush half of it onto the bread. Sprinkle cheese of your choice on top.
  • Put the skillet back into the oven (uncovered) and let it cook for another 20 minutes or until golden brown.  After that, brush the remaining butter sauce onto the focaccia. Let it cool for a bit and then indulge!

2013-06-18 18.12.40
Ingredients and instructions taken from: http://www.crunchycreamysweet.com/2013/02/25/one-hour-skillet-focaccia/

This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

