FLASHBACK: Sunset Splatter Nails

Happy Father’s Day!!! I hope you are all enjoying your Sunday with your fathers or father figures.

I am going to start the process of posting my older nail art and recipes. Today, I’m going to go with another summer look: sunset splatter nails. When I did these, they were my favorite nails I had done. I may actually replicate them this summer at some point.

sunset

These nails are actually pretty easy to create. I realize that my sunset is actually a sunrise at this angle. So I guess you can call them sunrise or sunset splatter. Which ever floats your boat.

To create these nails all you need is a make-up sponge, base and top coat, an orange polish, yellow polish, purple-pink polish, black polish, and a straw.

You may want to cover your fingers with tape for this mani. It gets pretty messy. Put on your base coat. You could also put a base color of white, if you wanted. White polish helps the colors pop a little more. I didn’t do that for these nails. You will put the yellow, orange, and purple polishes on a sponge in that order. You want to overlap the colors so they blend together better on your nails. Dab the makeup-sponge on your nails so the the colors are horizontal on your nail. I did this about 2-3 times to get the best gradient effect.

Now here comes the fun part. There are different ways to get the splatter on your nails. One way is to thin out your polish a little bit, and then with a fan brush, dip the brush in the thinned out polish and tap the brush so the polish falls off. However, what I did was the straw method. You just stick your straw into the bottle of the black polish. Then, you simply blow the polish onto your nails. You do this as many or few times to each nail to get the desired effect. With this method, you may not get as much control of where the splatter goes as you do with the brush method, but the outcome is still awesome.

Here’s a video showing how to do the straw method. (Maybe I should start making my own videos…)

After you are done with the splatter, let it set for about 10 minutes, and then apply your fast drying top coat. I really love this mani. It’s so easy to customize to your own liking as well. Go crazy and use whatever colors you want!

Polishes Used:
Yellow – Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in “Mellow Yellow”
Orange – Wet n Wild Wild Shine in “Sunny Side Up”
Purple – Wet n Wild Megalast in “Through the Grapevine”
Black – Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in “Black Out”
Top Coat – Seche Vite

This entry was posted in Beauty, Flashback, Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

