DIY Coconut Oil Sugar Scrub

ID-10047407

Image courtesy of Pixomar / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Every now and then I will share with you something I am absolutely in love with. Today I will be boasting about coconut oil.

While eating a cleaner diet, I started using healthier fats to cook food in. Coconut oil was in my top two fats of choice. It has so many benefits and uses. Recently, a dear friend of mine bought some coconut oil to moisturize her hair and skin with. She said she had never felt more luxurious and could notice an immediate difference, especially in her hair. Naturally, this peaked my curiosity. I’ve only consumed coconut oil; never have I applied it to my skin and hair.

Late last week I decided to give it a try. All you have to do is rub coconut oil in your hair from roots to ends. I let it set in my hair for about an hour. I washed it out twice with my shampoo and then conditioned like normal. I have no words for what I experienced. I have somewhat frizzy hair. I also air dry my hair after a shower, and let me tell you, my hair becomes its own species. After using the oil, my hair barely frizzed while air drying. It was so smooth and shiny. It even felt a bit thicker. The next day, I had minimal hair frizzage. I was highly impressed.

To use it as a skin moisturizer, all you do is exfoliate your skin while in the shower or bath. I had a Burt’s Bees Sugar Scrub to do that, but you can use your regular bath wash with an exfoliating glove. After I’m done with that and my shower, I put on a light coat of oil over my body. It will feel a bit thick even as a thin coat. You’ll feel your skin feeling smoother as the oil absorbs into your skin. I’m amazed by it.

My friend pointed me to this website that had some DIY coconut oil products to make. I decided to make the coconut oil sugar scrub since I already had all the ingredients. It was pretty darn simple to make.

DIY COCONUT OIL SUGAR SCRUB

scrub

Ingredients:
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup (or less) of coconut oil
1 TBS honey

Basically, all you do is put all that in a bowl and mix it. Pretty easy, huh? This amount fit perfectly into a small container I had. If you want to make more or less, all you have to remember is one part brown sugar, one part granulated sugar, and 2 parts coconut oil (*see note*) The honey is there to act as more of a moisturizing agent. You could also use vanilla extract.

I used this last night. WOW. It was pretty amazing. I was scared at first to try it, but I am not looking back now! I could feel the sugar exfoliating my skin so well. I was going to put a small amount of coconut oil on after I was done with my shower, but there was no need. I could still feel the coconut oil on my body. This will definitely replace my after shower coconut oil rub down. Today my skin feels SO AMAZING.

I hope you all try out these coconut oil tricks. I don’t think any of you will be disappointed.

*Note*
I felt like putting a whole cup of coconut oil for the scrub was a bit much. I took some of the top oil off with a spoon. Next time I make this, I won’t use a whole cup; maybe 3/4 would be better.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Other, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

