Enchiladas and Puff Pastry Jalapeno Poppers

Welcome back!

My first post the other day was the “N” part of Nood Mood. Now, we will move onto the “ood” part. (Do we have any Doctor Who fans out there. I just imagined an Ood in my head while typing “ood.”)

I feel as though whenever I cook, it is an all day event no matter how small or big the meal is. I will admit, I am kind of a disorganized cook. I make a big mess too. I like to think I am getting better at that the more I cook, but I would be lying to myself. I may have to take a picture of my mess and disorganization the next time I cook. It’s pretty bad.

Despite my mess and disorganization, the enchiladas and puff pastry jalapeno poppers I made were oh so delicious! Let’s get into the recipes.

PUFF PASTRY JALAPENO POPPERS 

PhotoGrid_1371166035002

I found this recipe on Pintrest, of course. Rachel Schultz is the creator of this awesome recipe. It was really quite simple.

This recipe will make 12 or 24 poppers depending on the size of jalapenos you buy.

Ingredients:
6 large jalapenos or 12 regular sized jalapenos (I used the larger ones.)
1 box puff pastry (I used only one sheet, while in the original recipe 2 were used.)
8 oz cream cheese (I used a nonfat cream cheese.)
1/2 cup of bacon pieces (I bought pre-cooked bacon and just added as much as I wanted. I love bacon. You can definitely use real bacon. I wanted to save time.)
1 cup of shredded cheese. (I didn’t measure the cheese. I put in a few handfuls. I love cheese like I love bacon.)
A few dashes of garlic powder (The original recipe called for 4 cloves of garlic roasted in the oven for half an hour.)
Salt and pepper to taste
1 egg and 3 TBS of water for an egg wash

Preheat your oven to 400°F. Take out your puff pastry and make sure it is defrosted completely.

I first mixed the filling. Put your cream cheese, garlic powder, shredded cheese, bacon, salt and pepper in a bowl and mix until everything is fully incorporated. I used 6 large jalapenos instead of 12 jalapenos as on the original recipe.  You cut them in half, length wise and hollow them out. I made sure I removed all the seeds and as much of the membrane as I could. After that I start stuffing! Once they are all stuffed, I cut my sheet of puff pastry into squares. I placed the jalapeno upside down on the pastry so the stuffing side was on the pastry. It makes for a smoother presentation. Bunch up the ends to make sure the whole jalapeno is covered. When they are done, place them on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper, and then brush the egg wash (water and egg whisked together). Place in the oven for 20 minutes!

The stuffing in mine did escape while cooking, but that was mostly my fault and not having the pastry pinched together the best.

These were really delicious! They weren’t spicy because I took out all the seeds and membranes. You can absolutely leave the seeds in if you want. I felt the real magic was when you bit into the bacon. Oh my. So good.

Another option you could do, which I think I might do next time, is dice up the jalapenos and add it into the cream mixture. Fill the pastry with the mixture and bake the same as the poppers.

ENCHILADAS

PhotoGrid_1371166207944

For the main course I made enchiladas! This recipe is one my dad found on allrecipes.com. It’s called Angela’s Awesome Enchiladas. They were pretty awesome. I didn’t follow the recipe to the T just like I didn’t with the jalapeno poppers.

This recipe will make about 8 enchiladas.

Ingredients:
2 – 3 pounds of chicken – shredded (I used boneless, skinless breast.)
Salt and pepper to taste
1 TBS Slap Ya Mama Cajun Seasoning
1 can (10.75 oz.) condensed cream of chicken soup
1 1/4 cup of sour cream
1/4 teaspoon chili powder (I just put in a few small dashes.)
1 (4 oz.) can chopped green chilis
1 (1.25 oz.) package of El Paso  Hot n Spicy Taco Seasoning (You can use whatever spice level of taco seasoning you want.)
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp lime juice
1 can (10 oz.) enchilada sauce (I used green enchilada sauce instead of the red because I found it for a dollar. I’m cheap.)
3 cups of shredded cheese
1 can (6 oz.) chopped or sliced black olives
1 package of 8 burrito sized  flour tortillas

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

I seasoned the chicken on all sides with salt, pepper, and Slap Ya Mama. I baked it for about 40 minutes. After it was fully cooked and the juices ran clear, I let it rest for about 5 minutes. Then I placed the chicken in a big metal bowl, took out my hand mixer, turned it on, and started shredding that chicken! This is the ABSOLUTE easiest and fastest way to shred meat. You can use a stand-up mixer or a hand mixer. Make sure you cover it while mixing because it can get a bit messy. Stop mixing when you have reached your level of shreddedness.

You then want put your shredded chicken in a sizable skillet and put it on the stove on medium heat.  With the chicken you will add your packet of taco seasoning, garlic and onion powder, lime juice, diced chili, some of your olives (optional), and cup of water. Stir it all together. You will let that simmer for about 10 minutes.

While that is going, you want to get a saucepan and put your stove on medium low heat. You will add your cream of chicken soup, sour cream, and chili powder to it. Stir it occasionally. It will get thinner as it cooks, but it will be a thick sauce. By the time the chicken is done simmering, this sauce will be a nice consistency.

After the sauce is done, you will add one cup of it to the shredded chicken mixture. Stir that well until it is all incorporated. Then take the remaining sauce and put it at the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish.

Now, comes the fun part: assembling the enchiladas! Simply put a nice helping of the shredded chicken on the tortilla and add a nice handful of cheese on top of the chicken. Then, you will roll it up. Here’s a video to show you how to roll a burrito.

After you roll the enchilada, place it in the baking dish. I was only able to fit about 7 in my baking dish. You may be able to fit more or less in yours. When they are all snug in the baking dish, take your can of enchilada sauce and pour it all over the enchiladas. Try to cover them with the sauce as equally as you can. Put your remaining cheese on top of the enchiladas. Top it all over with your olives and then stick it in the oven. You will probably wind up baking this for about 45 minutes. You want to make sure everything is nice and hot in the middle, so 45 minutes should suffice.

This was a really delicious meal. Very filling. By using the Hot N Spicy taco mix, it really gave the enchiladas a nice bite. I love spicy food, so it didn’t bother me too much. Always cater your food to your taste profile. Recipes are just guides; you don’t need to follow them completely.

If any of you decide to make these, please leave me a comment and tell me how you liked them! Or if you found a way to improve, tell me!

I hope you all have a great weekend and don’t forget to discover your Nood Mood!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

