First post! Summer Chevron Gradient Nails!

Hi! Welcome to Nood Mood! I hope you enjoy your visit!

For my first post, I thought I’d share my newest manicure that I am so in love with. I was inspired by a design on I saw on Pintrest that Polish Pals had posted.

Image

No, this isn’t a traditional chevron design, but it is in the same vein. To create the chevron gradient, I first painted my thumb and ring finger gray. I let that dry COMPLETELY. When it was dry, I cut tape into stripes, and then cut those stripes in half. Tip: before putting the tape on your nails, dab it on your skin a few times to get rid of most of the glue. I placed the tape on my nails in an arrow shape, and tried to put the point of the tape as close to the middle of my nails as possible. With a make up sponge, I put yellow and mint polish on it. I overlapped the colors in the middle to have a better transition. I simply just patted the sponge on my nails. I did two coats of that for each nail. I carefully removed the tape, and fixed any small blotches with a small brush. I let it dry for a few minutes. The gradient really comes alive when you put a fast drying top coat on it. It blends beautifully.

For the index and pinky nails, I simply did two coats of a coral polish and topped it off with a fast drying top coat.

I used loose sliver glitter for the middle finger. I first did a base color of silver. While that was still wet, I put my finger in the tub of glitter. I used a fan brush to take off the excess. I think I used two or three coats of my top coat. Can I be honest for a moment? That was such a pain. Glitter was everywhere. I had to redo some of my coral nails because glitter found its way onto those nails, and I ruined my nails trying to get it off. I don’t use my loose glitter often for that reason alone.

However, I just LOVE LOVE LOVE how this turned out. I would definitely do a similar design again.

Here is a list of supplies I used:
Base Coat – Anchor by Zoya
Coral – Sasha by Julep
Gray – Audacious Asphalt by Maybelline Color Show
Yellow – Alma by Julep
Mint – Mint Sorbet by Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear
Glitter bought from Born Pretty
Top Coat –  Rock Top Coat by European Secrets

I hope you all enjoyed my first post! I will be adding all my past manicures from over the past year or so. Even the fails!

This entry was posted in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to First post! Summer Chevron Gradient Nails!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Love it!!!!!

  2. What a great twist to the chevron trend!
    Thanks for sharing, and congrats on your first blog post!
    xoxo,
    Savannah

  3. Must Have Boxes says:

    Your mani is gorgeous!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  4. Belinda says:

    I’m so happy you have made a blog!!! Can’t wait to see your other manis!!! ❤ Belinda
    http://www.beautychattette.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

